Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (English Edition) por Chris Hedges

Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (English Edition) por Chris Hedges

Titulo del libro: Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (English Edition)

Autor: Chris Hedges

Número de páginas: 242 páginas

Fecha de lanzamiento: July 14, 2009

Editor: Nation Books

Obtenga el libro de Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (English Edition) de Chris Hedges en formato PDF o EPUB. Puedes leer cualquier libro en línea o guardarlo en tus dispositivos. Cualquier libro está disponible para descargar sin necesidad de gastar dinero.

Chris Hedges con Empire of Illusion: The End of Literacy and the Triumph of Spectacle (English Edition)

Pulitzer prize-winner Chris Hedges charts the dramatic and disturbing rise of a post-literate society that craves fantasy, ecstasy and illusion above all else.

We now live in two Americas. One--now the minority--functions in a print-based, literate world that can cope with complexity and can separate illusion from truth. The other--the majority--is retreating from a reality-based world into one of false certainty and magic. To this majority--which crosses social class lines, though the poor are overwhelmingly affected--presidential debate and political rhetoric is pitched at a sixth-grade reading level. In this "other America," serious film and theater, as well as newspapers and books, are being pushed to the margins of society.

In the tradition of Christopher Lasch's The Culture of Narcissism and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death, Pulitzer Prize-winner Chris Hedges navigates this culture-attending WWF contests, the Adult Video News Awards in Las Vegas, and Ivy League graduation ceremonies-to expose an age of terrifying decline and heightened self-delusion.